Township, Library, & School Information

November 5, 2015 City Election Results

Fifteen Rippey voters participated in an election inwhich there were no races. Incumbent council members Garry W. Higgins and GailMonthei ran unopposed. Higgins received 14 votes (51.9 percent) and Montheireceived 13 votes (48.1 percent). Mayor Daniel Brubaker received 14 votes, 100percent of the votes cast for mayor. Voter turnout was 9 percent.


Rippey City Council

The council meets the first Monday of the month.
Address: PO Box 230
Rippey, IA 50235-0230
Mayor: DanBrubaker
City Clerk:Mary Millard
Council Members:
Donnie Carpenter,who replaced Gail Monthei after his resignation
Rick Liebich
Jon Allen
Ned Johnston

Rippey Library
Shawneene Kenan, Librarian
Library hours
Monday                1:00 – 6:00
Tuesday                2:00 – 6:00
Wednesday           3:00 – 6:00
Thursday              2:00 – 7:00
Friday                   3:00 – 6:00
Saturday              Closed
Board Members:
DaleHanaman, President
JeanBorgeson, Secretary/Treasurer
Jo Bardole
Nancy Burrow

Washington TownshipTrustees:

JeanBorgeson, Township Clerk
Mary Hick,Chairman
RogerNorgren, elected November 6, 2012 for four years; re-elected for fouryears at the General Election, November 5, 2016
Tod Contner,elected November 6, 2012 for four years; re-elected for four years at theGeneral Election, November  5, 2016

TheWashington Township Trustees fund the Rippey Fire Department. The City ofRippey provides the building and the upkeep of the building. The township buysthe trucks, pays for equipment, upkeep and repairs, and insurance on thetrucks.
The trustees are elected by the voters of WashingtonTownship.
Fire Chief: Pete Johnson
The Washington Township Trustees are also responsible forthe upkeep of the three cemeteries, Rippey, Old Rippey, and Bowers/Angus.
Rippey Sexton: Roger Norgren
Bowers/Angus and Old Rippey Sexton: Dick Bardole
The trustees levy separate taxes for the cemetery and firedepartment.


A 501 (c)(3) not for profit formed to assist the Rippey community with service projects.


Mary Weaver, President
Dale Hanaman, Vice President
Mary Hick, Secretary
Sharon Ulrich, Treasurer

Board Members:

Kevin Hick
Ned Johnston
Roger &Coleen Norgren
Phil &Toni Roberts
Dick &Janice Schlicht
Dale &DeAnn Thompson
Gary Weaver